0 In Aerospace Engineering/ NASA/ Roscosmos

A New Set of Astronauts Head to Space Today!

Pegg

Peggy Whitson, Oleg Novitskiy and Thomas Pesquet (Expedition 50-51) makes their way down the “Walk of Cosmonauts” via NASA Johnson 

With all of Expedition 49-50’s delays, it has been less than a month since the “old crew” has launched to the International Space Station (ISS). They won’t be alone for too much longer because Expedition 50-51 is on schedule to launch today. Peggy Whitson, an American astronaut for NASA, Oleg Novitskiy, a Russian cosmonaut for Roscosmos, and Thomas Pesquet, a French astronaut from ESA will be leaving Earth on a Russian Soyuz capsule today and joining the crew on the ISS this Saturday. Want to watch all the excitement from prelaunch to hatch openings? NASA has you covered!

All suited up! Peggy Whitson, Oleg Novitskiy and Thomas Pesquet are in their launch suits which are different than the ones you wear in space! via NASA Johnson

All suited up! Peggy Whitson, Oleg Novitskiy and Thomas Pesquet are in their launch suits which are different than the ones you wear in space! via NASA Johnson

WATCH EVENTS LIVE HERE

15:20 EDT 11/17 (19:20 UTC 17/11)  Time of Launch – Programming will be 14:30-16:00 EDT (18:30-20:00 UTC)
17:01 EDT 11/19 (21:01 UTC 19/11)  Time of Docking – Programming will be  16:00-17:05 EDT (20:00-21:05 UTC)
19:35 EDT 11/19 (23:35 UTC 19/11) Time of Hatch Opening – Programming will be 18:45-20:00 EDT (22:45-00:00 UTC)

30898737765_580288d83a_o

Peggy Whitson, Oleg Novitskiy and Thomas Pesquet plant their Expedition’s tree, a Russian pre launch tradition via NASA Johnson

You Might Also Like

No Comments

Leave a Reply